DSC02153.JPG

© Aron H. Matthiasson

ATOPIA

three attempts at order

2018

An evening between choreography, object theater and participatory performance. Between the here and now and the elsewhere.

Atopy, the (Greek ατοπία atopía «placelessness», «not assignable», «of high originality»). In medicine, hereditary hypersensitivity with an immediate allergic reaction. In philosophy, the indescribability and indescribability of things: when the commonality of the place and the name is lost.


While scientists at Green Bank are measuring the reverberant signals of the Big Bang, an artificial island is being built in Dubai, Elvira spreads out her bath towel and a single sperm cell makes it to the egg cell.
How do we orient ourselves in a chaotic, placeless world? What is the relationship between meaning and the world? Driven by a permanent urge to create and order, the performers keep adding new images to a choreography of objects and bodies, and a voice claims to understand what is going on.  In the end, the audience is challenged to locate themselves.

Premiere June 2018 Theater der Künste, Zurich

Concept and direction Rebekka Bangerter

Performance Deborah de Lorenzo I Silvio Kretschmer I Katrija Lehmann I Fynn Schmidt I Annabelle Sersch

Text Rebekka Bangerter, Ensemble and the Internet

Scenography and costume Madlen Hallauer  

Dramaturgy Andreas Wirz

Sounddesign Luca Magni

Sound engineering Flurin Devonas

Oeil exterior Kathrin Veser

 

© rebekka bangerter

DSC02153.JPG

© Aron H. Matthiasson

ATOPIA

drei versuche der ordnung

2018

Ein Abend zwischen Choreografie, Objekttheater und partizipativer Performance. Zwischen dem Hier und Jetzt und dem Anderswo.

Atopie, die (griechisch ατοπία atopía «Ortlosigkeit», «nicht zuzuordnen», «von hoher Originalität»). In der Medizin eine erbliche Überempfindlichkeit mit unmittelbar einsetzender allergischer Reaktion. In der Philosophie die Unbeschreiblichkeit und Unverortbarkeit der Dinge: wenn das Gemeinsame des Ortes und des Namens verlorengeht.
Während Wissenschaftler von Green Bank aus die nachhallenden Signale des Urknalls messen, wird in Dubai eine künstliche Insel errichtet, Elvira breitet ihr Badetuch aus und ein einzelnes Spermium schafft es bis zur Eizelle.
Wie orientieren wir uns in einer chaotischen, ortlosen Welt? Wie ist das Verhältnis von Bedeutung und Welt? Angetrieben von einem permanenten Schöpfungs- und Ordnungsdrang fügen die Performer immer neue Bilder zu einer Choreografie der Objekte und Körper zusammen und eine Stimme behauptet zu verstehen, was vor sich geht. Oder? Am Ende ist das Publikum gefordert, sich selber zu verorten.

 

 

Premiere Juni 2018 Theater der Künste, Zürich

Konzept und Regie Rebekka Bangerter

Spiel Deborah de Lorenzo I Silvio Kretschmer I Katrija Lehmann I Fynn Schmidt I Annabelle Sersch

Text Rebekka Bangerter, Ensemble und das Internet

Szenografie und Kostüm Madlen Hallauer 

Dramaturgie Andreas Wirz

Komposition Luca Magni

Tonmeister Flurin Devonas

Oeil Exterieur Kathrin Veser

 

© rebekka bangerter